Instagram launched Photos of You, a feature that makes it easier to see all of the photos you’ve been tagged inby friends and customers.
Previously, the only way to find out whether a photo of you was uploaded was to scroll through your activity feed. However, if your username or hashtag wasn’t mentioned, it can be almost impossible to track down every single one.
Now, using one of Facebook’s most popular features — photo tagging — app users can tag any person or brand. When someone tags you, you’ll receive a notification and the photo will be added to the new Photos of You section.
For brands, this is a particularly helpful feature as the Photos of You page can be used to show off customer-taken photos. The downside is that existing @mentions cannot be automatically converted into photo tags. Anyone wishing to add tags to old photos will have to do so manually, one at a time.
Before the Photos of You section is visible to others, you’ll have until May 16th to explore and get use to it. You can also adjust your account’s settings so that you can review photos first before they appear on your profile. You can see the feature in action in the video below, or you can upgrade to version 3.5 of Instagram on your iOS or Android device.